Is That Cool or What

New products new web services and just way cool design

New Media and the evolving internet

I have been looking into new internet applications for a while and have been holding off reviewing them. I wanted to give them a chance and not jump too early.

Joost is created by created by Niklas Zennström and Janus Friis (founders of Skype and Kazaa) and like Skype and Kazaa it uses peer-to peer technology. Joost is very sound very stable and delivers  brilliant sharp video. I love the look and feel of the site. Now here’s the problem I don’t see any content that I like, I mean I have looked  and I haven’t found much I want to watch. So my verdict This is the future of television and as more stations come onto the Joost the more important it will be.

Today I installed Tubes it is still in Beta and I had some issues installing  the application but in about a half hour I got it running. So what is it? It is a way for you to make your own channels to bring in the content you want or more importantly for you to publish your own content It is very early in it’s development but I am impressed.

August 19, 2007 - Posted by | Web 2.0

1 Comment »

  1. […] 7th, 2007 I have remarked in the past about Joost. My reaction to the site was positive, my reaction to the content was less than […]

    Pingback by Joost open to the public « Is That Cool or What | October 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

